5 J-RPG Horror Games You Should Play

What I really love about horror J-RPG games is that, they’re not the typical “screamer” horror game that most of the same genre are offering. You gotta love how the authors penned abysmal story lines and how they idealize a characters psychology as the story goes on and oh…..  possible plot twists and ends too~ They may not win in terms of complexity of graphics, but they do win with the rest of the aspects on what makes a game satisfying.

corpseparty

Corpse Party: Blood Covered

Platform: PSP
Language: English
Summary:
Performing a good luck charm that was suppose to  bind your friendship forever, the Kisaragi Academy group of students find themselves trapped and separated in Heavenly Host Elementary School where only death and despair awaits. Meet the victims from other schools along the way, help your classmates escape the accursed school, the progress of the story will surely leave you wanting to ask  “Who’s gonna survive in this hell hole?”
Review:
The spine-chilling atmosphere and disturbing story left our ears very sensitive to sounds, that we find it hard to sleep for 3 days after completing the game.

corpsepartyshadows

Corpse Party: Book of Shadows

Platform: PSP
Language: English
Summary:
This is  a  follow-up game of Blood Covered that highlights the major and minor characters that were previously untouched.
Review:
I’m thankful for XSEED for localizing the game and for fleshing out the characters that were given little importance in the first game. The game play is different than Blood Covered, this time it’s a visual novel-like style but you get to interact with stuff and so on. And if you manage to link your save file with the previous game, you’ll unlock a bonus content!

ib

Ib

Platform: PC
Language: English
Summary:
The late artist Guartena will draw you to his world……..well  “literally”.
Review:
Ib places a top 1 spot on my list for having a satisfying plot, lovable characters and artsy game-play stages. I also find it amusing to be able to easily recognize Guartena’s works after playing the game,  it was as if every bit of detail  made  a made its way to my memory and I really can’t explain why, but I guess it was pretty immersible.

witchs house

Witch’s house

Platform: PC
Language: English
Summary:
It might be a dream for some to wake up in a  grass plain surrounded by nature but not for our heroine. What could she have possibly done to anger the witch?
Review:
In terms of horror, I’d place Witch’s house as my number 1. We screamed and our body jolted in almost every puzzle in the game. Yup,  I didn’t manage to finish the game if it weren’t for my siblings support.  We had trouble sleeping after completing the game~ It was too creepy and sad at the same time.

madfather

Mad Father

Platform: PC
Language: English
Summary:
Aya woke up in the middle of the night after hearing mysterious sounds outside her room, it turns out that their house was placed upon a grave curse . Wanting to save his father from the man eating abominations, she embarked on a quest to not only find out the reasons behind the curse but her fathers intentions as well.
Review:
How I adore the game design  and adrenaline rush situations.  But in my opinion, this game was too inspired by the Witch’s house~ I find the way the story progress and flow of game-play a bit too similar,  but eh~ great art and puzzles nonetheless.  We got to the 2 bad ends in our first try :’D

Did I miss something?

I have yet to play other games recommended by other girls. Right now I’m playing Misao, and it sure has too many wrong endings~ >w<;;
[Edit: Updated the links Feb 4,2012]

9 thoughts on “5 J-RPG Horror Games You Should Play”

  1. I would also recommend Misao’s Body (or just Misao, as some people call it). It’s definitely a nice and creepy little game to play in the dark.

    Like

  2. Yes I agree, Corpse Party is really good, wish they will make the sequels xD I’ll say Fatal Frame series, Phantasmagoria, Juon (WII) xD Ah how I like horror game lolz

    Like

  3. I also agree with Dellz, Corpse Party is awesome! I haven’t played it and I will never play it myself, since I’m too scared to do that, but I watched all Let’s Play’s and was scared to death!!!
    The voice acting is so freaking awesome and YES EVEN 2D games can scare you so much you can’t sleep after playing/watching let’s plays… ^^ The dark atmosphere is just perfect! Also the sprites were pretty adorable!

    At first I didn’t wanted to watch the let’s plays, but I couldn’t resist, because I wanted to know, what was going on with that hell of a school… And the story is pretty good!

    Like

  4. Corpse Party : Blood Covered( or i called it ‘Pesta Mayat’ because i can’t say the english title properly ) : downloading

    Corpse Party : Book Of shadows… not planning to play….

    Ib : played even the 1.05 and this version is really ‘something’

    The Witch House : only knows the name

    Mad Father : just finished it today… because of some friend…

    Misao : half played…i can’t deal with most of the event so i wait until my friend wanted to play it…

    Like

Leave a comment :) This will make me happy~

